The Mason House, at the corner of Depot and Main Street, was constructed in 1889 by David P. Mason, Sr. Between the Mason House and the businesses along Depot Street was an alley that provided access from Depot Street to the rear of the Grand Central Hotel (currently the General Morgan Inn). In the early 1990’s, renovation began that incorporated the two hotels and the alley. The long, empty indoor corridor created from the alley sparked an inspiration by local artist Judith Plucker to create an art gallery. Her vision was to encourage exhibitions by local artists who would not otherwise have an opportunity to showcase their work. Through Judith’s efforts, in conjunction with the General Morgan Inn, the Mason House Gallery opened in early 2002. Since then, The Greeneville Arts Council and the General Morgan Inn have sponsored monthly exhibits and meet-the-artist receptions for varied and original art by local and regional artists. For information about exhibits, please contact Til Green, director of exhibitions, at 423-329-5366 or firstname.lastname@example.org.